Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows - LONG OVERDUE UPDATE

General discussion of the port and Doom-related chat.
User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows - LONG OVERDUE UPDATE

#1

Post by Hypnotoad » Tue May 28, 2013 1:02 am

EDIT: This has been superseded by Rocket Launcher 2.0, click here





EDIT: This has been superseded by Rocket Launcher 2.0, click here







EDIT: This has been superseded by Rocket Launcher 2.0, click here





Rocket Launcher: A GUI for launching Doom wads I've been working on for windows:

Image

For those who have not used a Doom Frontend such as ZDL before, this is an interface allowing you to quickly set up a doom game using any combination of source port, IWAD, patch wads and additional arguments of your choosing. Furthermore, you can associate and launch doom files with this program, and it is also compatible with doom builder to test your maps with.

Q: Why use this instead of ZDL?
A: No particular reason, this is a personal project I am working on that I have decided to share. This doesn't have all the features ZDL does, but it does have a few advantages, such as:

-More ergonomic design, including a box listing all of your patch wads allowing you to quickly add them to load in the engine of your choosing.
-An "Include Skulltag Data Files" checkbox, saving you time by not having to load the data files individually.
-Displays the associated logo for each engine.
-DOSBox support

More screens:

[spoiler]Image
Image[/spoiler]

Hypnotoad wrote:Rocket Launcher now features DOSBox support!

Want to play vanilla doom but tired of typing commands and mounting directories in dosbox? Then use Rocket Launcher, it will automatically run the doom executable in dosbox with the correct aspect ratio, will understand skill and command line parameters, and attempt to load any additional files you specify (must be doom compatible wads).

Yes, simply add dosbox.exe as an engine, then select it and you will be prompted to locate your original doom/doom2 executable file. In order for this to work, you must make sure the files used (including any pwads) and folders containing them (including parent folders) used are no longer than 8 characters long, or it probably will not work properly!

Here is me testing the vanilla compatibility of obsidian deathmatch:

Image

Also added:

The Blue Panther wrote:Edit: While not a big issue, I just want to say that, it would be better to have a fixed list of what IWADS can be used. (My folder is a clusterfuck of wads)


Done

-fixed bug where loading a blank IWAD folder caused the application to crash.
-made sure selecting "none" as skill resets it to the default value.


Hypnotoad wrote:Another update! Now all of the parameters, files to load etc.. can be saved and loaded quickly with two new handy buttons:

Image

You can also launch RocketLauncher directly with the *.rocket configuration file it saves.

Also fixed a few bugs relating to dosbox support.


Hypnotoad wrote:I finally decided to work on this again after all this time. My first update brings some much requested features:

First of all the pwad loading system has changed, you now have a button to add each pwad from the pwad folder listbox into the main 'Files to load' listbox, and you are able to manipulate the order or remove individual wads from this box; no longer must you have to clear the box and load files again if you want to change their load order or remove individual files not in the default pwad folder!

Support has been added for the popular new 'Doom Retro' source port.

Rocket Launcher now remembers the last IWAD and Engine you selected on application start, allowing you to quickly launch wads without having to select the engine and iwad each time.

A checkbox to hide or show the command line arguments has been added.

edit: also I'd like to mention, because people seem to be unaware about this: Rocket Launcher supports wad/pk3 file association, so if you associate your doom wads with Rocket Launcher in windows and double click them, it should run Rocket Launcher with the pwad loaded and ready to go.


Download: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/460 ... cherb7.zip

(Note, for the time being due to the strange way the doomsday engine works, it is not properly supported by this application at this time.)

As usual, please contact me if there are any bugs!

Probably requires .net redistributable

Additional thanks to:
Propaganda - for testing and suggestions
TerminusEst13 - for testing and coming up with the name
capodecima - testing
Last edited by Hypnotoad on Sat May 28, 2016 9:17 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Ænima
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 3345
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:12 pm
Location: Shpongleland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#2

Post by Ænima » Tue May 28, 2013 1:06 am

DUDE.


Image


Hypnotoad wrote:-An "Include Skulltag Data Files" checkbox, saving you time by not having to load the data files individually.

Zandronum's startup window needs to have this by default.

Either that, or I vote for Hypnotoad's launcher to be bundled with the Zandronum package by default.
Last edited by Ænima on Tue May 28, 2013 1:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image ­ ­
­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­
Doom64: Unabsolved: Doom64 and Diablo2 had a baby


ZandroSkins
: a pack made by our community
Squad Radio: a WASD-powered chat menu, add your own sounds
AeniPuffs: neat blood and puff effects

katZune
Forum Regular
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Mexico! aka the hell gate

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#3

Post by katZune » Tue May 28, 2013 1:09 am

Ænima wrote:DUDE.


Image


Hypnotoad wrote:-An "Include Skulltag Data Files" checkbox, saving you time by not having to load the data files individually.

Zandronum's startup window needs to have this by default.

Either that, or I vote for Hypnotoad's launcher to be bundled with the Zandronum package by default.


same here, downloading!!!!"
Whitout a good PC ATM, i will back when 2.0 come out, :)
Spoiler: The True (Open)
Ijon Tichy wrote:
Catastrophe wrote:Banned on grandvoid for trolling Zombie Horde and all out war (blocking, destroying my own base, etc)
Kicked from El Zoido's all out war for nuking our teams base
Kicked again from el Zoido's server for fucking up the warfactory so bad that mechs couldn't spawn anymore
I see no offenses here

only justice

Oddbrother
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: United States

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#4

Post by Oddbrother » Tue May 28, 2013 1:25 am

You know what? I'm happy.

Watermelon
Zandrone
Posts: 1244
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:07 pm
Location: Rwanda

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#5

Post by Watermelon » Tue May 28, 2013 1:33 am

Great job!

User avatar
The Blue Panther
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:54 am
Location: Argentina

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#6

Post by The Blue Panther » Tue May 28, 2013 4:05 am

It's already pointed out, but still

Ænima wrote:
Hypnotoad wrote:-An "Include Skulltag Data Files" checkbox

Zandronum's startup window needs to have this by default


Also, I got too used to shortcuts that I wasn't arsed enough to download ZDL, now this comes up

Well you convinced me

Edit: While not a big issue, I just want to say that, it would be better to have a fixed list of what IWADS can be used. (My folder is a clusterfuck of wads)
Last edited by The Blue Panther on Tue May 28, 2013 4:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Medicris
Forum Regular
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:29 am

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#7

Post by Medicris » Tue May 28, 2013 5:26 am

ew that old icon makes me sad, sorry to have unleashed such a monstrosity on you poor people

Haven't posted these anywhere till now but
[spoiler]Image
Not my proudest work either but at least it's better than that

Image
Or there's always infernus's superior one here


also IDE's default icon is fugly so uh yeah lazy IDE icon too
Image

Convertico.com can make .ico icons before you ask[/spoiler]
Last edited by Medicris on Tue May 28, 2013 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mr fiat
Frequent Poster Miles card holder
Posts: 859
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:28 pm
Location: netherlands

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#8

Post by mr fiat » Tue May 28, 2013 6:23 am

Medicris wrote:ew that old icon makes me sad, sorry to have unleashed such a monstrosity on you poor people

[spoiler]Image
not my proudest work either but at least it's better than that

Image
or there's always infernus's superior one


also ide's icon is fugly so uh yeah lazy IDE icon too
Image

Convertico.com can make .ico icons before you ask[/spoiler]


thing is i liked that older one better :s

User avatar
Monsterovich
Forum Regular
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:46 pm

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#9

Post by Monsterovich » Tue May 28, 2013 8:41 am

Nice! :)

Hypnotoad wrote:I've been working on for windows:


Linux:Fuuuuuu!
MacOS:Fuuuuuuu!
FreeBSD:FuFUfUFffufuFuFu!

So, I'm working without this utility more faster than with. Hehe.
Last edited by Monsterovich on Tue May 28, 2013 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows

#10

Post by Hypnotoad » Tue May 28, 2013 5:52 pm

Rocket Launcher now features DOSBox support!

Want to play vanilla doom but tired of typing commands and mounting directories in dosbox? Then use Rocket Launcher, it will automatically run the doom executable in dosbox with the correct aspect ratio, will understand skill and command line parameters, and attempt to load any additional files you specify (must be doom compatible wads).

Yes, simply add dosbox.exe as an engine, then select it and you will be prompted to locate your original doom/doom2 executable file. In order for this to work, you must make sure the files used (including any pwads) and folders containing them (including parent folders) are no longer than 8 characters long, or it will probably not work properly!

Here is me testing the vanilla compatibility of obsidian deathmatch:

Image

Also added:

The Blue Panther wrote:Edit: While not a big issue, I just want to say that, it would be better to have a fixed list of what IWADS can be used. (My folder is a clusterfuck of wads)


Done

-fixed bug where loading a blank IWAD folder caused the application to crash.
-made sure selecting "none" as skill resets it to the default value.

Download: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/460 ... cherb2.zip[/b]

Medicris wrote:ew that old icon makes me sad, sorry to have unleashed such a monstrosity on you poor people


I don't think there is anything wrong with it but I will consider updating it for the next release.
Last edited by Hypnotoad on Tue May 28, 2013 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Monsterovich
Forum Regular
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:46 pm

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATURE: DOSBox support!

#11

Post by Monsterovich » Tue May 28, 2013 6:38 pm

Problems:
1.Interface is too hard
2.BUG:If port is not selected, then app will die with error.
3.I can't resize window.

User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATUDOSBox support!

#12

Post by Hypnotoad » Tue May 28, 2013 6:51 pm

Monsterovich wrote:Problems:
1.Interface is too hard


Not sure what you mean.

2.BUG:If port is not selected, then app will die with error.


Fixing, this didn't occur in the older version but my update broke that.
edit: fixed, please redownload

3.I can't resize window.


Do you need to?
Last edited by Hypnotoad on Tue May 28, 2013 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Dark-Assassin
Maintenence Crew
Posts: 957
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 4:25 am

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATUDOSBox support!

#13

Post by Dark-Assassin » Tue May 28, 2013 7:35 pm

Hypnotoad wrote:
Monsterovich wrote:Problems:
1.Interface is too hard


Not sure what you mean.


I think he means that the GUI is very messy.
To reduce the messiness, I can suggest using a tabbed interface.

User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATUDOSBox support!

#14

Post by Hypnotoad » Tue May 28, 2013 7:44 pm

-=Dark-Assassin=- wrote:
Hypnotoad wrote:
Monsterovich wrote:Problems:
1.Interface is too hard


Not sure what you mean.


I think he means that the GUI is very messy.
To reduce the messiness, I can suggest using a tabbed interface.


Well it's a design choice, I'm one of those weirdos that prefers everything to be in one place on the screen, rather than switching between tabs.

User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATURE: DOSBox support!

#15

Post by Hypnotoad » Tue May 28, 2013 9:34 pm

Update: some users on windows xp (i.e. capo) had trouble with the engine data not saving properly, this latest build fixes that: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/460 ... cherb3.zip

User avatar
DevilHunter
Zandronum Tester
Posts: 622
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:58 am
Location: Alaska, USA
Clan: Moonlight Killers
Clan Tag: [MLK]
Contact:

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATURE: DOSBox support!

#16

Post by DevilHunter » Wed May 29, 2013 3:52 am

Not sure if you can but, can you make it to where it looks in SubFolders? My wads folder is categorized. Like say.. Deathmatch, CTF,.. much like that. Would be nice..

Other then that, nice job on this. :p

EDIT: No matter where I put the ST Data files, they will not load. It shows in the cmd line but, when it loads though Zandronum, they don't ???
Last edited by DevilHunter on Wed May 29, 2013 3:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATUDOSBox support!

#17

Post by Hypnotoad » Wed May 29, 2013 4:41 am

DevilHunter wrote:Not sure if you can but, can you make it to where it looks in SubFolders? My wads folder is categorized. Like say.. Deathmatch, CTF,.. much like that. Would be nice..

Other then that, nice job on this. :p

EDIT: No matter where I put the ST Data files, they will not load. It shows in the cmd line but, when it loads though Zandronum, they don't ???


We found that if your folders contain spaces it wont work properly, latest build fixes that:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/460 ... cherb4.zip

However folders with spaces wont work when loading vanilla doom with dobox, so I strongly recommend you use folders without spaces.

User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW FEATURE: DOSBox support!

#18

Post by Hypnotoad » Thu May 30, 2013 9:49 pm

Another update! Now all of the parameters, files to load etc.. can be saved and loaded quickly with two new handy buttons:

Image

You can also launch RocketLauncher directly with the *.rocket configuration file it saves.

Also fixed a few bugs relating to dosbox support.

Download: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/460 ... cherb5.zip

User avatar
Hypnotoad
Forum Regular
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 8:50 pm
Location: Britland

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW: Save and load all custom parameters

#19

Post by Hypnotoad » Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:27 pm

Update: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/46003682/RocketLauncherb6.zip

-EDGE support added
-Vanilla doom executable is now saved (can be changed with the add engine button) and is also saved and loaded in any custom configs.
-ST Data checkbox state is also saved in custom configs
-Minor bug fixes

User avatar
Triple S
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:18 pm

RE: Rocket Launcher - frontend for windows | NEW: Save and load all custom parameters

#20

Post by Triple S » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:28 pm

This is really awesome, I use it all the time now. The only suggestion I can think of is to allow the program to recognize PK7 files. Right now I have to change the extension, which isn't really a problem but is still kind of annoying.

I was going to suggest wrapping file paths in quotes to allow spaces, but I updated and saw you already took care of that. Awesome!

Post Reply