Zandronum stops responding to user input after a short while [Linux]

General help and assistance forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
Polygon
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 11:12 pm
Clan: Nuclear Empire
Clan Tag: [NE]

Zandronum stops responding to user input after a short while [Linux]

#1

Post by Polygon » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:28 pm

I'm currently using Ubuntu 16.10 at the moment but whenever I'm running zandronum after a while after either opening the text chat or console, Keys stop working.

It seems they fix themselves after a level change or if I actually forcibly close the zandronum client and rejoin. But within a very short amount of time the keys stop working again.

Can anyone help me out a bit?

If you need any more information let me know.


**EDIT: http://zandronum.com/tracker/view.php?id=1440&nbn=4
Found something here?

Lollipop
Zandrone
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Zandronum stops responding to user input after a short while [Linux]

#2

Post by Lollipop » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:42 am

I have the same problem as well. My testing was limited, but it seems that AOW2.1 has a bigger issue than vanilla Doom in this regard.

Is zan not utilizing SDL2? If it doesn't, will it?

Perhaps I should add that due to my current internet problems, I did my testing through mobile hotspot, though that shouldn't be an issue here.

User avatar
Polygon
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 11:12 pm
Clan: Nuclear Empire
Clan Tag: [NE]

Re: Zandronum stops responding to user input after a short while [Linux]

#3

Post by Polygon » Sun May 14, 2017 9:12 pm

I've been talking with Dusk and the issue seems to lie in SDL itself. You will be able to fix this by doing the following.
Also if autoconf is not installed you will need to install it as listed below.

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt install autoconf cmake mercurial
$ hg clone --branch SDL-1.2 https://hg.libsdl.org/SDL SDL-1.2
$ cd SDL-1.2
$ ./autogen.sh && ./configure && make
$ sudo make install
$ sudo ldconfig
If the commands don't work and it says that the directory exists already try the commands below instead.

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt install autoconf cmake mercurial
$ hg clone --branch SDL-1.2 https://hg.libsdl.org/SDL SDL-1.2-fix
$ cd SDL-1.2-fix
$ ./autogen.sh && ./configure && make
$ sudo make install
$ sudo ldconfig

Note: I've edited the list of commands slightly just to make sure all the needed dependencies are taken care of and to make sure you have all them :)

Source: http://zandronum.com/tracker/view.php?id=1440#c17660

User avatar
SP_FACE1
New User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 11:54 pm

Re: Zandronum stops responding to user input after a short while [Linux]

#4

Post by SP_FACE1 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:00 pm

I've been having this issue too. Thanks for the fix.
I wasn't sure if `sudo make install` would have messed with the package management so I installed the compiled `libSDL-1.2.so.0.11.4` directly into the Zandronum directory. Need to set LD_LIBRARY_PATH when I launch Zandronum to use it but that's ok. So far I haven't seen the bug after testing an hour or so. Knocking on wood.

Post Reply