Here! HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT, Plutonia, Heretic and Hexen

General discussion of the port and Doom-related chat.
Post Reply
Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

Here! HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT, Plutonia, Heretic and Hexen

#1

Post by Cataflexia » Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:02 pm

Dark-Assassin wrote: Thought I'd share this.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5ol4lgmvru9se ... Titles.pk3

It's basically all of the background images in HD and respect their games. This also includes Hexen and Heretic backgrounds, the M_DOOM and END graphics.
Note it uses a copy of the MAPINFO definitions from Zandronum.pk3. For some reason I cannot have the GAMEINFO section by itself, so I just copied the entire MAPINFO files.

Because of a problem with scaling up the backgrounds, in Doom1 the intermission backgrounds are not animated.

I also am unable to define the BOSSBACK backgrounds for the different Doom2 IWADs.
Thanks very much Dark-Assassin for your sharing !

I've probed your pack an this is fine.

But I guess that this packet will be more complete adding some things more like:

Good:
-HD Skull Icon for Doom Menu's
-HD Arrow Icon for Heretic/Hexen Menu's
-HD Fonts for sub-menus now are available on all games.
-HD BOSSBACK for DOOM 2 is now available
-HD yellow, blue and green keys for Heretic
-HD select item cursor for Heretic/Hexen
-HD inventory arrow for Heretic/Hexen
-HD Loading/Saving/Ethereal Travel icons for Hexen
-HD Paused icon for Heretic/Hexen

So So:
-HD Fonts for MAIN MENU (Only for Heretic and Hexen. Main Menu Doom series don't load the HD fonts by an unknow reason)
-HD CREDITS PIC for all games (For Doom 1 the credit pic are in low res yet)
-Some holdable items in Heretic and Hexen now are in HD. The others HD items are very ugly I think so I've deleted it.
-HD Chosing BOX pic for Parias Cleric in Hexen (For Baratus Fighter and Daedolon Mage HD versions are very ugly I think and I deleted it too)

Bad:
-INTERMISSION PICs don't work in Zandronum, GZDoom, ZDoom engines


So, I want to cooperate with your effort creating my own new pack's for each game:
-Doom 1
-Doom 2
-Heretic
-Hexen

Doom Series files:

Doom Series Commons: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing
Doom 1 HD GUI: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing
Doom 2 HD GUI: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing
Doom Plutonia HD GUI: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing
Doom TNT HD GUI: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing

Heretic files:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing

Hexen files:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing

Hexen DDC files:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-r_dU ... sp=sharing


And take a look...

Doom 1 HD Alternative Title: This is an alternative title, the other HD Title is too yellow I think, and this is more close to the original colors.

Image


Doom 1 Main Menu: I can't load the HD Fonts in the Main Menu for an unknow reason, if somebody can help me with this I'll thanks a lot.

Image


Doom 2 HD Alternative Title: The same thing of the Doom 1 HD Title, the original Doom 2 HD Title don't like much because this have digital noise (I think for the scanner effect).
So, I've searched and finally I put this wonderful HD title for Doom 2.

Image


Doom 2 Main Menu: The same problem of the Main Menu of Doom 1, the HD fonts don't load.
If someone know how to load the fonts in Doom Series will great!

Image


Doom 2 Credits: The only thing that I've changed is the pixelated id logo to a HD id logo.

Image


Doom Plutonia Main Menu: Again, the HD fonts don't load.

Image


Doom TNT Main Menu: Again, the same problem with the fonts.

Image


Heretic Main Menu: This is very strange, in this case the Main Menu Fonts load without problems! If someone can explain me why in Heretic the fonts load and not in Doom series I'll thank a lot.

Image


Hexen Main Menu: Again, the HD Fonts can be loaded in Heretic and Hexen main menu's, but not in main menu of Doom series, that's sad!

Image


Hexen DDC Main Menu: Hehe, HD Fonts in Main Menu of DDC

Image


Well, I hope that you like my work.

See ya!
Last edited by Cataflexia on Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ænima
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 3467
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:12 pm
Location: Shpongleland

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#2

Post by Ænima » Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:59 pm

Open those packs with Slade3 and just export those graphics into a seperate wad. Then put that wad into your Zandronum skins folder and viola, you'll have hi-res menus/title screens.
Image ­ ­
­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­
Doom64: Unabsolved: Doom64 and Diablo2 had a baby


ZandroSkins
: a pack made by our community
Squad Radio: a WASD-powered chat menu, add your own sounds
AeniPuffs: neat blood and puff effects

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#3

Post by Cataflexia » Sat Jul 19, 2014 5:29 am

Ænima wrote: Open those packs with Slade3 and just export those graphics into a seperate wad. Then put that wad into your Zandronum skins folder and viola, you'll have hi-res menus/title screens.
Hi dudes,

Hehehe, It's been a while no?

Well, finally I've tested the steps that Ænima tell me in the year 2012, hohoho !

It worked, but now I have other problem.

I was able to successfully change the original title pic of 320x200 for a hi res title pic of 1024x640.

If you look closely, the 1024x640 res is the same original res that correspond to an expanded one

However, when I add the hd file titlepic.png to the .pk3, the game don't fit the image to the full screen, look:

Image

Image

So I proceeded to change the resolution of the hd image 1024x640 to 320x200, the problem here is about the definition of the picture, because it have a terrible quality now, look:

Image

Image

If we think, the image finally is like the original. This does not help me.

Then, anybody can tell me if I can change the Title Pics to an a real HD quality like Doomsday can?

Thanks !
Last edited by Cataflexia on Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bazzoka
Forum Regular
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:49 am
Location: Lithuania

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#4

Post by bazzoka » Sat Jul 19, 2014 6:40 am

Hard core thread bump. Use HIRESTEX to remap title screens

Code: Select all

remap (name of original) (name of new definition)
You can read the wiki how it works because i am lazy to explain.
http://zdoom.org/wiki/HIRESTEX
You can say good bye to your thread. Cause i am killing it.

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#5

Post by Cataflexia » Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:10 pm

bazzoka wrote: Hard core thread bump. Use HIRESTEX to remap title screens

Code: Select all

remap (name of original) (name of new definition)
You can read the wiki how it works because i am lazy to explain.
http://zdoom.org/wiki/HIRESTEX
Hahjajahah, yeah.

I'll try your instructions, and then I'll comment you about the result.

Thanks ! :cool:

Image
Last edited by Cataflexia on Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#6

Post by Cataflexia » Sat Jul 19, 2014 10:44 pm

Well,

The way that you comment is a little complicated to follow.

However, I've found a really easy way to replace the main title pic of Doom series, look:
I've been trying to get jDUI loading in GZDoom (v1.1.2 r101) but it is only working partially. I am putting most of the UI graphics into the "hires" dir, except for menu screens (like TITLEPIC or INTERPIC) which won't get stretched if I don't put them into the "graphics" folder instead.
Source: http://forum.drdteam.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=3264

So, for example, I've modified the hi res texture pack for zdoom (usable with gzdoom and zandronum too) and I added to it a folder called "graphics":

Step 1: Create / Add a folder called graphics in the .pk3
Image

Step 2: Create / Add a sub-folder called doom2 for replacing the graphics in Doom 2
Image

Step 3: Paste the desired file to replace the original one. In this case, titlepic.png for replace the title screen in Doom 2
Image

And you got it ! :cool:

Image

Image

Thanks for all help, I apreciated a lot ! :wink:

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#7

Post by Cataflexia » Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:20 am

Dammit !

Now I have other problem !

When I put the title pics for the Doom 1, TNT or Plutonia, Zandronum still only taking the titlepic for Doom 2, and ignore the titlepic for the other Doom's.

Why ?

Image

Image

User avatar
Disguise
Retired Staff / Community Team Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 10:00 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#8

Post by Disguise » Sun Jul 20, 2014 1:43 am

Because they use the name, that's why. You'll have to make separate wads for each and then load them with their corresponding game.
Image

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#9

Post by Cataflexia » Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:05 pm

Thanks !

Now I have all working!
Last edited by Cataflexia on Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Disguise
Retired Staff / Community Team Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 10:00 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#10

Post by Disguise » Mon Jul 21, 2014 12:45 pm

No problem! I'm glad I could be of help! ;)
Image

User avatar
Dark-Assassin
Maintenence Crew
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 4:25 am

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#11

Post by Dark-Assassin » Mon Jul 21, 2014 2:35 pm

Thought I'd share this.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5ol4lgmvru9se ... Titles.pk3

It's basically all of the background images in HD and respect their games. This also includes Hexen and Heretic backgrounds, the M_DOOM and END graphics.
Note it uses a copy of the MAPINFO definitions from Zandronum.pk3. For some reason I cannot have the GAMEINFO section by itself, so I just copied the entire MAPINFO files.

Because of a problem with scaling up the backgrounds, in Doom1 the intermission backgrounds are not animated.

I also am unable to define the BOSSBACK backgrounds for the different Doom2 IWADs.
Last edited by Dark-Assassin on Mon Jul 21, 2014 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Daniel78
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:14 pm

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#12

Post by Daniel78 » Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:18 pm

Hi. Can someone make a .pk3 whit all of this??

PD: Yes, im new. Sorry guys ;)

User avatar
Dark-Assassin
Maintenence Crew
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 4:25 am

RE: HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT and Plutonia ?

#13

Post by Dark-Assassin » Wed Aug 06, 2014 9:13 pm

I already provited a PK3 with all of it. See link in my post above.

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: Here! HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT, Plutonia, Heretic and Hexen

#14

Post by Cataflexia » Wed Aug 06, 2014 9:44 pm

Well, look the top of this post, I've updated with all the information about the all games.

Enjoy it !

Doom 1 Credits: However, today the credits pic for Doom 1 stay in low res, if someone know any HD source, then I'll update my pack, so please comunicate with me in this post and I'll do the rest.

Image
Last edited by Cataflexia on Wed Aug 06, 2014 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Daniel78
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:14 pm

RE: Here! HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT, Plutonia, Heretic and Hexen

#15

Post by Daniel78 » Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:22 pm

Dark-Assassin wrote: I already provited a PK3 with all of it. See link in my post above.
Thanks!!
Cataflexia wrote: Well, look the top of this post, I've updated with all the information about the all games.

Enjoy it !

Doom 1 Credits: However, today the credits pic for Doom 1 stay in low res, if someone know any HD source, then I'll update my pack, so please comunicate with me in this post and I'll do the rest.

Image
Nice work! Just what i was lookin for!

PD: Usin the "zdoom-doom-commons-gui.pk3" deforms the HUD (mostly whit other mods).
Last edited by Daniel78 on Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: Here! HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT, Plutonia, Heretic and Hexen

#16

Post by Cataflexia » Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:28 am

ok, I'll check.

Can you post a screenshot with this problem?
Last edited by Cataflexia on Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

hiragamer
Registered just to make one post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:42 pm

RE: Here! HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT, Plutonia, Heretic and Hexen

#17

Post by hiragamer » Wed Aug 13, 2014 7:30 am

Daniel78 wrote:
Dark-Assassin wrote: I already provited a PK3 with all of it. See link in my post above.
Thanks!!
Cataflexia wrote: Well, look the top of this post, I've updated with all the information about the all games.

Enjoy it !

Doom 1 Credits: However, today the credits pic for Doom 1 stay in low res, if someone know any HD source, then I'll update my pack, so please comunicate with me in this post and I'll do the rest.

Image
Nice work! Just what i was lookin for!

PD: Usin the "zdoom-doom-commons-gui.pk3" deforms the HUD (mostly whit other mods).
Hello, I need your permission to upload these files to best ever, can you?

Cataflexia
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:49 pm

RE: Here! HD Titles for Doom 1, 2, TNT, Plutonia, Heretic and Hexen

#18

Post by Cataflexia » Sat Aug 16, 2014 1:21 am

Go ahead, only remember to mention me with my nick in the credits.

See ya!

Post Reply