Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

General discussion of the port and Doom-related chat.
BlackFish
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:30 pm

Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#1

Post by BlackFish » Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:33 pm

Sorry for blatent crossposting. But I thought there'd be some interest in this.

Original thread.
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=34585


MaxED over at Zdoom forums discovered an opengl hack which treats said games with ENBSeries style features.

I usedthis

A short instruction if someone is interested:
1. Place QeffectsGL.ini and opengl32.dll in your GZDoom folder.
2. Open QeffectsGL.ini and add following section after [Generic]:

Code: Select all

[gzdoom.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
(GZDoom crashes on startup if Multisampling or Anisotropy is enabled)
3. Tweak various settings to your liking.
4. Launch GZDoom as usual.
To further tweak, you can try the following variables. Bold variables must be on for Gzdoom/Zandronum to work. Also runs with Doomsday and other GL based ports.


Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0


These modify Bloom, its strength, and dampening.

Bloom=1
BloomSteps=8
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=8

SSAO (in terms of this hack) creates false depth shadows. Beware that it also affects the sky and in GZDoom (not zandronum) the shadows will clip through sprites. To cancel it out use SSAO(Min/Max)Z at equal values to each other. This will not work with NVIDIA beta drivers either.

SSAO=1
SSAOScale=1.0
SSAOMinZ
SSAOMaxZ


Global saturation and lighting.

Saturation=-32
Lightness=-10


Emboss Bumpmapping. Will bring the pixels out a bit more if you desire.
Emboss=0
EmbossScale

DOF Blur.

DOF=1
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=3.0

User avatar
DTDsphere
Forum Regular
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:58 am
Location: England
Contact:

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#2

Post by DTDsphere » Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:42 pm

We already have this.
phpBB [video]
The [video] tag is deprecated, please use the [media] tag

Sergeant_Mark_IV
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 4:17 am
Location: Brazil

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#3

Post by Sergeant_Mark_IV » Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:47 pm

This is the best setting I found so far. Adds the bloom without making everything look blue or green.

Code: Select all

[gzdoom.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomSteps=8
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=4
SSAO=0
SSAOScale=1.0
Saturation=0
Lightness=0
Emboss=0
DOF=0
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=3.0
RenderFrame=1



[zandronum.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomSteps=8
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=4
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=1.0
Saturation=0
Lightness=0
Emboss=0
DOF=0
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=3.0
RenderFrame=1

User avatar
Ænima
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 3523
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:12 pm

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#4

Post by Ænima » Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:42 pm

Sergeant_Mark_IV wrote: This is the best setting I found so far. Adds the bloom without making everything look blue or green.

Code: Select all

[gzdoom.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomSteps=8
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=4
SSAO=0
SSAOScale=1.0
Saturation=0
Lightness=0
Emboss=0
DOF=0
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=3.0
RenderFrame=1



[zandronum.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomSteps=8
BloomDarken=8
BloomScale=4
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=1.0
Saturation=0
Lightness=0
Emboss=0
DOF=0
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=3.0
RenderFrame=1
For me, that just makes everything really dark. No idea why.

EDIT:
Nevermind! My damn ATI card is a piece of poop. I was able to fuss with the settings enough to make it work for me.
Spoiler: (Open)
phpBB [video]
The [video] tag is deprecated, please use the [media] tag
Last edited by Ænima on Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bloax
Forum Regular
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:11 pm

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#5

Post by Bloax » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:02 am

Blox wrote:

Code: Select all

[Generic]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
MultisampleHint=0
Bloom=1
BloomSteps=128
BloomDarken=7
BloomScale=0.707
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=1.0
SSAOMinZ=0
SSAOMaxZ=0.33
RenderFrame=2
Hue=0
Saturation=0
Lightness=0
Emboss=0
EmbossScale=0.666
DOF=0
DOFMinZ=0.005
DOFSpeed=0.75
DOFScale=30.0
Seems to look pretty good to me. The occlusion isn't particularly intrusive (but it's there), and the bloom is subtle too.
Overall pretty much as casual as you'll get.

User avatar
ibm5155
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 1641
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:32 pm
Location: Somewhere, over the rainbow

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#6

Post by ibm5155 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:43 pm

phpBB [video]
The [video] tag is deprecated, please use the [media] tag
Put it on zandronum, and add some commands to filter what parts of sprites and textures wil be affected and I´ll die happy

User avatar
-Jes-
Frequent Poster Miles card holder
Posts: 975
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Void Zone

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#7

Post by -Jes- » Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:39 am

Looks fairly good, although it appears to mess up the texture memory after a while.

doomwolf555
Forum Regular
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:16 pm

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#8

Post by doomwolf555 » Sat Nov 17, 2012 8:03 am

looks like Enb series.
i have mixed this with HD textures and models and looks so cool:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3lUnyHzp ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
ibm5155
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 1641
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:32 pm
Location: Somewhere, over the rainbow

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#9

Post by ibm5155 » Sat Nov 17, 2012 7:58 pm

and it´s enb series .-.

Bloax
Forum Regular
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:11 pm

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#10

Post by Bloax » Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:41 pm

I fail to see how excessive, tight bloom looks "good". Yes, I really do. (As said previously, a slight, spread out bloom is what scores high for this guy.)
-Jes- wrote: Looks fairly good, although it appears to mess up the texture memory after a while.
Strange, I played an entire round of AOW2 without any problems.

It really seems to vary from person to person how buggy it is. (In my case, it works flawlessly.)

User avatar
-Jes-
Frequent Poster Miles card holder
Posts: 975
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Void Zone

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#11

Post by -Jes- » Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:04 am

Bloax wrote: Strange, I played an entire round of AOW2 without any problems.

It really seems to vary from person to person how buggy it is. (In my case, it works flawlessly.)
I found that texture scaling aggravates the issue severely.
Was able to watch a 50 minute long AOW2 game without any problems, but if I turned on scale2x, it happened in only about 20 minutes.

Resetting texture settings seems to clear it.
Last edited by -Jes- on Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
StrikerMan780
Forum Regular
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 9:16 pm
Clan: Shadow Mavericks
Clan Tag: [SM]

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#12

Post by StrikerMan780 » Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:15 am

Some shots...
ImageImage

I'm going to be honest, I'd love to see some of these effects get coded into GZDoom/Zandro, and modified for flexibility with other features of the ports.
Last edited by StrikerMan780 on Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
-Jes-
Frequent Poster Miles card holder
Posts: 975
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:55 am
Location: Void Zone

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#13

Post by -Jes- » Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:34 pm

So while watching the AOW2 old version weekend... This happened.
Image

User avatar
StrikerMan780
Forum Regular
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 9:16 pm
Clan: Shadow Mavericks
Clan Tag: [SM]

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#14

Post by StrikerMan780 » Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:37 pm

Ok, this turned out Sexy: Image

Blasphyx
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Space

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#15

Post by Blasphyx » Sun Nov 18, 2012 8:34 pm

Yes please.
Image

User avatar
StrikerMan780
Forum Regular
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 9:16 pm
Clan: Shadow Mavericks
Clan Tag: [SM]

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#16

Post by StrikerMan780 » Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:02 pm

Now if only there was a way to keep the SSAO from fucking with the skies.

doomwolf555
Forum Regular
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:16 pm

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#17

Post by doomwolf555 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:11 pm

Last edited by doomwolf555 on Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

im1hpu0
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:27 pm
Location: Zanaris

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#18

Post by im1hpu0 » Sun May 12, 2013 4:01 pm

I tried it on ghv and it was all right, but when i got in the GV priv CTF almost all of the map was black and a little space was with normal color... why i got this problem?

darkstar64
Forum Regular
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:48 am
Location: Canada

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#19

Post by darkstar64 » Sun May 12, 2013 9:09 pm

I tried out different settings people over on the Zdoom thread suggested, and I found this one to look the best for me. Aside from the SSAO causing black lines in the sky (which I don't care about), it looks really good. And yes, I like the emboss.

[spoiler]
[zandronum.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomDarken=2
BloomScale=1
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=1
Saturation=-5
Emboss=1
[/spoiler]

Also, screenies: http://imgur.com/a/rBh92
Imgur kinda blurred the pics a little. They looked better in-game.

EDIT: OH GOD, brace your eyes for brightness when you pick up an invulnerability sphere!
Last edited by darkstar64 on Sun May 12, 2013 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hypnotoad wrote:
That's a pony? I pegged him for some kind of skunk furry.

User avatar
Dark-Assassin
Maintenence Crew
Posts: 968
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 4:25 am

RE: Want some Bloom in your GL Port (Yes, Zandronum)

#20

Post by Dark-Assassin » Mon May 13, 2013 6:08 am

darkstar64 wrote: I tried out different settings people over on the Zdoom thread suggested, and I found this one to look the best for me. Aside from the SSAO causing black lines in the sky (which I don't care about), it looks really good. And yes, I like the emboss.

[spoiler]
[zandronum.exe]
Anisotropy=0
Multisample=0
Bloom=1
BloomDarken=2
BloomScale=1
SSAO=1
SSAOScale=1
Saturation=-5
Emboss=1
[/spoiler]

Also, screenies: http://imgur.com/a/rBh92
Imgur kinda blurred the pics a little. They looked better in-game.

EDIT: OH GOD, brace your eyes for brightness when you pick up an invulnerability sphere!
Strangely, when I try this preset, everything goes super dark, unless I turn SSAO off... Strange...
Also, just in case, there are no render options forced on my Graphics Card.
Last edited by Dark-Assassin on Mon May 13, 2013 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply