Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

General help and assistance forum.
Post Reply
7ony
Registered just to make one post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:49 am

Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

#1

Post by 7ony » Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:20 am

When attempting to create a cooperative multiplayer game using Brutal Doom v21 and Doom 2 on The Sentinel's Playground, I am having trouble enabling infinite ammo.

I tried using sv_infiniteammo = 1 and also tried enabling infinite ammo in the server settings (Flags > DM Flags > Infinite Ammo). Either way, ammo still runs out as normal.

Here is a screenshot of my server settings (click to enlarge):
Image

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

User avatar
penguin
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:05 am
Location: Japan

Re: Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

#2

Post by penguin » Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:04 am

sv_infiniteammo has no effect because brutal doom uses A_Takeinventory to reduce ammunition.

User avatar
Fused
Contributor
Posts: 639
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 9:47 am
Location: Netherlands
Clan: TK
Contact:

Re: Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

#3

Post by Fused » Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:15 pm

As a solution, you could bind your fire key to fire, and then give full ammo.
Otherwise you will have to ask Mark for an item that can replicate the effect, so the weapons can check for it and determine if it has to remove ammo.

User avatar
TDRR
Forum Regular
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

#4

Post by TDRR » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:02 pm

Fused wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:15 pm
As a solution, you could bind your fire key to fire, and then give full ammo.
Otherwise you will have to ask Mark for an item that can replicate the effect, so the weapons can check for it and determine if it has to remove ammo.
Actually, Zandronum has a built-in flag in A_TakeInventory for that: TIF_NOTAKEINFINITE
So there's no need to hack around with items and such.
No Gucci, no Prada, no Supreme, but my sadness got an ending, my smile shining like bling-bling, i'm so blessed feeling like a king!

play with my bots or bad stuff will happen to u >:c

User avatar
penguin
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:05 am
Location: Japan

Re: Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

#5

Post by penguin » Wed Apr 01, 2020 2:53 am

But it's easier to keep adding ammo than to replace the code.

User avatar
Fused
Contributor
Posts: 639
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 9:47 am
Location: Netherlands
Clan: TK
Contact:

Re: Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

#6

Post by Fused » Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:34 am

TDRR wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:02 pm
Fused wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:15 pm
As a solution, you could bind your fire key to fire, and then give full ammo.
Otherwise you will have to ask Mark for an item that can replicate the effect, so the weapons can check for it and determine if it has to remove ammo.
Actually, Zandronum has a built-in flag in A_TakeInventory for that: TIF_NOTAKEINFINITE
So there's no need to hack around with items and such.
I don't think that flag is compatible with Zandronum. Even then, it would require to be added to the mod. So the best solution is to just bind an extra command.

User avatar
TDRR
Forum Regular
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:13 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: Unable to enable infinite ammo (Brutal Doom)

#7

Post by TDRR » Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:04 pm

Fused wrote:
Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:34 am
I don't think that flag is compatible with Zandronum. Even then, it would require to be added to the mod. So the best solution is to just bind an extra command.
It is indeed compatible with Zandronum (And has been since 2.0, if not a bit earlier), but yes you are right in that it's easier to bind an extra command. Might be worth taking into account for the next update (That is, if Mark decides to actually implement it :rolleyes: ).
No Gucci, no Prada, no Supreme, but my sadness got an ending, my smile shining like bling-bling, i'm so blessed feeling like a king!

play with my bots or bad stuff will happen to u >:c

Post Reply