zandronum searches for nerve wad and stupid ip question

General help and assistance forum.
Post Reply
ThatGuy
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:42 pm

zandronum searches for nerve wad and stupid ip question

#1

Post by ThatGuy » Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:47 am

I swear I fixed this issue before. I am trying to build a doom server on my linux mint machine to play on my LAN. I use the following server build command:

Code: Select all

zandronum-server -port 10666 -iwad IWADs/DOOM2.WAD -file Mods/D4Tv2.5.pk3 +sv_nojump 1 +sv_nocrouch 1 +sv_hostname "LAN PARTY"
When I build the server:

Code: Select all

zand_server_build.sh
Zandronum 3.0.1 - 191013-1938 - SDL version
Compiled on Nov 3 2019

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
[b]Can't find 'IWADs/nerve.wad'[/b]
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
adding /usr/games/zandronum/zandronum.pk3, 689 lumps
adding IWADs/DOOM2.WAD, 2935 lumps
adding Mods/D4Tv2.5.pk3, 7746 lumps
adding Mods/D4Tv2.5.pk3:d4tskins.wad, 257 lumps
WARNING: S_START marker without corresponding S_END found.
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4600U CPU @ 2.10GHz
Family 6, Model 69, Stepping 1
Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
Using in-memory database. The database will not be saved on exit.
IPFileParser::parseIPList: could not open adminlist.txt: No such file or directory
IPFileParser::parseIPList: could not open whitelist.txt: No such file or directory
IPFileParser::parseIPList: could not open banlist.txt: No such file or directory
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
Attempting to remap texture R016Q0 to non-existent lump R016Q0H
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
R_Init: Init Doom refresh subsystem.
DecalLibrary: Load decals.
PWO_Init: Initializing preferred weapon order.
M_Init: Init menus.
P_Init: Init Playloop state.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading default status bar definition.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading custom status bar definition.
D_CheckNetGame: Checking network game status.
using alternate port 10666
player 1 of 1 (1 nodes)
Initializing network subsystem.
Server using alternate port 10666.
IP address 127.0.1.1:10666
GeoIP initialized.
UDP Initialized.

*** MAP01: entryway ***
And when I connect to the server:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/zandronum -connect 127.0.0.1:10666 -iwad /home/Uname/Documents/Doom/IWADs/DOOM2.WAD -file /home/Uname/.config/doomseeker/D4Tv2.5.pk3
Zandronum 3.0.1 - 191013-1938 - SDL version
Compiled on Nov 3 2019
Using video driver x11

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Can't find '/home/Uname/Documents/Doom/IWADs/nerve.wad'
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
adding /usr/games/zandronum/zandronum.pk3, 689 lumps
adding /home/Uname/Documents/Doom/IWADs/DOOM2.WAD, 2935 lumps
adding /home/Uname/.config/doomseeker/D4Tv2.5.pk3, 7746 lumps
adding /home/Uname/.config/doomseeker/D4Tv2.5.pk3:d4tskins.wad, 257 lumps
WARNING: S_START marker without corresponding S_END found.
et al

So, I have a couple questions:

1. How do I stop zandronum from searching for Nerve? I seem to remember it causing problems before.
2. The server automatically hosts on 127.0.1.1, am I mistaken in thinking this is local host? I cannot seem to connect to this address from another machine on the same network, but I can connect on the same machine.

User avatar
Sean
IRC Operator
Posts: 952
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: zandronum searches for nerve wad and stupid ip question

#2

Post by Sean » Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:08 pm

1. Check your ini (~/.config/zandronum/zandronum.ini) and ensure nerve.wad isn't set to autoload for some reason
2. By default, Zandronum will bind to allIP addresses available on the machine. The 127.0.1.1 IP displayed is just a guess as to what address you might want; you should be able to access it via its actual LAN IP or via your public IP assuming port forwarding is set up correctly.
<capodecima> i dont say any more word without my loyer jenova

ThatGuy
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:42 pm

Re: zandronum searches for nerve wad and stupid ip question

#3

Post by ThatGuy » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:46 pm

Thanks Sean,

I found my local IPv4 address, it starts with 10, instead of 192, and I was able to connect locally.

I decided to try port forwarding for the hell of it, and opened a range of ports (10666-10670) on my router. I got my global ipv4 address by executing the command

Code: Select all

curl ifconfig.me
in my terminal, and verified it using https://www.whatsmyip.org/

I am now attempting to connect to it using another device by connecting with the flag

-connect xx.xx.xx.xxx:10666 (or whatever port zandronum chooses.)

Unfortunately, I only get a 'connecting to xx.xx.xx.xxx:10666' loop. Do you have any advice for how to troubleshoot this?

EDIT: Never mind. I was able to connect from another device that was not connected to the same network I am hosting my server on.


To anyone else who is having the same problem as me (trying to connect to a server they are hosting from their LAN) you can connect to your server using your server's local ipv4 address rather than your global address.

Post Reply