Help with setting up a server : it shows up incorrectly in the master server list

General help and assistance forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
☕
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:44 pm
Clan: sSs
Clan Tag: sSs

Help with setting up a server : it shows up incorrectly in the master server list

#1

Post by ☕ » Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:50 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to host a server on a local PC running with Xubuntu. It didn't work back then in 2010 with Windows, and it still doesn't.
I've tried port forwarding. This is what I'm doing :
I'm hosting with either Doomseeker or using commandline. This works on 192.168.1.2, which is my LAN IP that I can join the server with.
However the server, even if it shows up on Zandronum's master list, contains no info at all there besides its IP. So I cannot join it on WAN.
It appears like a bland server probably because I am not broadcasting to it properly ?
I've also tried joining it with command line and my WAN IP, to no avail either. So something is going wrong on the WAN side.

This is the command line I'm using to host :

Code: Select all

zandronum -host 16 '-iwad' '/home/tea/_WAD/_IWAD/DOOM2.WAD' '-port' '10666' '+timelimit' '0' '+fraglimit' '0' '+winlimit' '0' '+duellimit' '0' '+sv_maxlives' '0' '+buckshot' '1' '-host' '+alwaysapplydmflags' '1' '-skill' '1' '+duel' '1' '+sv_hostemail' '""' '+addmap' 'MAP09' '+sv_maprotation' '1' '+sv_randommaprotation' '0' '+sv_motd' '""' '+sv_hostname' 'badaboom' '+sv_website' '""' '+sv_broadcast' '1' '+sv_updatemaster' '1' '+sv_maxclients' '8' '+sv_maxplayers' '2' '+dmflags' '1610896772' '+dmflags2' '2097712' '+zadmflags' '0' '+compatflags' '0' '+zacompatflags' '0' '+lmsallowedweapons' '1023' '+lmsspectatorsettings' '3' '+sv_afk2spec' '10' '+sv_coop_damagefactor' '1' '+sv_defaultdmflags' '0' '+sv_banfile' '/home/tea/_ZANDRONUM/banlist.txt' '+sv_banexemptionfile' '/home/tea/_ZANDRONUM/whitelist.txt' '+sv_adminlistfile' '/home/tea/_ZANDRONUM/adminlist.txt'
These are my portforwarding settings :

Code: Select all

External Port Start		10666
External Port End		10666
Protocol				UDP
Internal Port Start		10666
Internal Port End		10666
Server IP Address		192.168.1.2
WAN Interface			veip3.1
And this is what I'm getting in the console :

Code: Select all

Zandronum 2.1.2 - 150718-1029 - SDL version
Compiled on Aug  7 2015
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "gail"
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "atk-bridge"
M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Gameinfo scan took 0 ms
sv_maxlives will be changed for next game.
buckshot will be changed for next game.
duel will be changed for next game.
"sv_hostemail" is ""
"sv_motd" is ""
"sv_website" is ""
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
 adding /usr/games/zandronum/zandronum.pk3, 695 lumps
 adding /home/tea/_WAD/_IWAD/DOOM2.WAD, 2919 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
  Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz
  Family 6, Model 58, Stepping 9
  Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
Using in-memory database. The database will not be saved on exit.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
P_Init: Checking cmd-line parameters...
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
R_Init: Init Doom refresh subsystem.
DecalLibrary: Load decals.
PWO_LoadDefs: Loading PWO definitions...
M_Init: Init miscellaneous info.
P_Init: Init Playloop state.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading default status bar definition.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading custom status bar definition.
D_CheckNetGame: Checking network game status.
using alternate port 10666
player 1 of 1 (1 nodes)
Initializing network subsystem.
Server using alternate port 10666.
Found interface lo with IP address: 127.0.0.1
Found interface enp5s0f2 with IP address: 192.168.1.2
Using IP address of interface enp5s0f2 as local address.
IP address 192.168.1.2:10666
GeoIP initialized.
UDP Initialized.

MAP09 (the pit) added to map rotation list at position 1.

*** MAP09: the pit ***

compatflags changed to: 0
If I add this parameter to the command line :

Code: Select all

 -upnp 10666
It will add this line in the console at the bottom right after "UDP Initialized." :

Code: Select all

NAT discovery error: Fail to find an UPNP NAT.
Also, hosting on TSPG won't solve my problem. What am I doing wrong here please ?

User avatar
☕
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:44 pm
Clan: sSs
Clan Tag: sSs

Re: Help with setting up a server : it shows up incorrectly in the master server list

#2

Post by ☕ » Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:00 pm

Some news, following those advices on IRC :
[18:58:22] <Tea>: I was using zandronum btw, not a custom server
[18:58:43] <Tea>: at the beginning of the console log, it seems it cannot detect two libraries properly
[18:58:55] <Tea>: do you have any clue if that might be tied to the problem ?
[18:59:05] <@MiFU>: which libraries?
[18:59:28] <Tea>: modules
[18:59:29] <Tea>: Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "gail"
[18:59:29] <Tea>: Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "atk-bridge"
[19:00:13] User IdeIdoom has quit the network. (QUIT: Ping timeout: 180 seconds)
[19:02:26] <csnxs>: use zandronum-server
[19:02:41] <Tea>: Is there one for linux ?
[19:02:51] <Tea>: I thought there was only one for windows
[19:02:56] <@MiFU>: that is the linux binary actually
[19:03:01] <@MiFU>: you got zandronum
[19:03:07] <@MiFU>: then zandronum-server
[19:03:08] <@MiFU>: for linux
I replaced "zandronum" by "zandronum-server" in the command line :

Code: Select all

zandronum-server -host 16 '-iwad' '/home/tea/_WAD/_IWAD/DOOM2.WAD' '-port' '10666' '+timelimit' '0' '+fraglimit' '0' '+winlimit' '0' '+duellimit' '0' '+sv_maxlives' '0' '+buckshot' '1' '-host' '+alwaysapplydmflags' '1' '-skill' '1' '+duel' '1' '+sv_hostemail' '""' '+addmap' 'MAP09' '+sv_maprotation' '1' '+sv_randommaprotation' '0' '+sv_motd' '""' '+sv_hostname' 'badaboom' '+sv_website' '""' '+sv_broadcast' '1' '+sv_updatemaster' '1' '+sv_maxclients' '8' '+sv_maxplayers' '2' '+dmflags' '1610896772' '+dmflags2' '2097712' '+zadmflags' '0' '+compatflags' '0' '+zacompatflags' '0' '+lmsallowedweapons' '1023' '+lmsspectatorsettings' '3' '+sv_afk2spec' '10' '+sv_coop_damagefactor' '1' '+sv_defaultdmflags' '0' '+sv_banfile' '/home/tea/_ZANDRONUM/banlist.txt' '+sv_banexemptionfile' '/home/tea/_ZANDRONUM/whitelist.txt' '+sv_adminlistfile' '/home/tea/_ZANDRONUM/adminlist.txt'
So now, I'm getting that in the console :

Code: Select all

Zandronum 2.1.2 - 150718-1029 - SDL version
Compiled on Jul 18 2015
M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Gameinfo scan took 0 ms
sv_maxlives will be changed for next game.
buckshot will be changed for next game.
duel will be changed for next game.
"sv_hostemail" is ""
"sv_motd" is ""
"sv_website" is ""
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
 adding /usr/games/zandronum/zandronum.pk3, 695 lumps
 adding /home/tea/_WAD/_IWAD/DOOM2.WAD, 2919 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
  Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz
  Family 6, Model 58, Stepping 9
  Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
Using in-memory database. The database will not be saved on exit.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
P_Init: Checking cmd-line parameters...
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
R_Init: Init Doom refresh subsystem.
DecalLibrary: Load decals.
PWO_LoadDefs: Loading PWO definitions...
M_Init: Init miscellaneous info.
P_Init: Init Playloop state.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading default status bar definition.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading custom status bar definition.
D_CheckNetGame: Checking network game status.
using alternate port 10666
player 1 of 1 (1 nodes)
Initializing network subsystem.
Server using alternate port 10666.
Found interface lo with IP address: 127.0.0.1
Found interface enp5s0f2 with IP address: 192.168.1.2
Using IP address of interface enp5s0f2 as local address.
IP address 192.168.1.2:10666
GeoIP initialized.
UDP Initialized.
MAP09 (the pit) added to map rotation list at position 1.

*** MAP09: the pit ***

compatflags changed to: 0
The other aspects of the problem remains exactly the same. (still doesn't work)

User avatar
Ivan
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 2219
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:38 pm
Location: Omnipresent

Re: Help with setting up a server : it shows up incorrectly in the master server list

#3

Post by Ivan » Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:10 pm

Type iddqd and idclip that might work.
=== RAGNAROK DM ON ... uh... dead forever? ===
=== ALWAYS BET ON ... uh... dead forever? ===
=== Who wanta sum wang? ===
=== Death and Decay - A new Monster/Weapon replacer ===

Post Reply