Command line connect to server with password

General help and assistance forum.
Post Reply
puisor
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 11:28 pm

Command line connect to server with password

#1

Post by puisor » Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:04 pm

Hi all,

Sorry for the noob question, but I've set up a server with sv_joinpassword and sv_password configuration options and don't seem to be able to connect to it using zandronum.exe from the command line. Whenever I try I get an incorrect password message.

This is the command line I'm using:

Code: Select all

zandronum.exe -iwad DOOM2.WAD -connect myserver:10666 +@sv_password "letmein" +@sv_joinpassword "letmein"
Does anyone know what the correct command line should be? I want to be able to connect to my server using a batch file rather than using Doomseeker every time. I can connect fine using Doomseeker so I am guessing that it passes the options to zandronum.exe. I checked here but it doesn't seem to cover connecting to servers, and this guide talks about connecting without a game browser, but doesn't mention passwords.

Thanks in advance,
puișor

User avatar
WaTaKiD
Master Server Admin
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:40 am
Location: USA

Re: Command line connect to server with password

#2

Post by WaTaKiD » Mon Nov 23, 2020 2:30 am

a client would be using cl_password and cl_joinpassword instead

puisor
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 11:28 pm

Re: Command line connect to server with password

#3

Post by puisor » Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:45 pm

EDIT: Worked out the syntax.

Many thanks for your help, WaTaKiD. Correct syntax is as follows:

Code: Select all

zandronum.exe -iwad DOOM2.WAD -connect myserver:10666 +cl_password "letmein" +cl_joinpassword "letmein"

User avatar
Sean
IRC Operator
Posts: 952
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Command line connect to server with password

#4

Post by Sean » Thu Nov 26, 2020 2:13 am

Protip: you can right-click a server in Doomseeker and select Show join command line, and it'll display the full command line it uses to connect for a server instead of launching the game
<capodecima> i dont say any more word without my loyer jenova

puisor
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 11:28 pm

Re: Command line connect to server with password

#5

Post by puisor » Fri Nov 27, 2020 6:15 pm

Thanks Sean. I wish I'd known that before, and I wouldn't have had to start the thread! :lol:

Post Reply