How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

Off-topic chat. Real talk.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hellsmith1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:08 am
Location: Jasper county Indiana

How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#1

Post by Hellsmith1 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:47 am

Hello. I'm new here and I don't know if this is the right area for this post or not.

When I spawn a friendly monster in cooperative it does not activate or move automatically. In a deathmatch game when I spawn friendly monsters it activates and moves automatically & this is offline too. Is there a way to change this?

User avatar
Empyre
Zandrone
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Garland, TX, USA

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#2

Post by Empyre » Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:01 pm

If you fire your weapon, or if the friendly monster sees a hostile monster, the friendly monster should wake up.

EDIT: It would be counterproductive to fire your weapon at the friendly monster to wake it up. I won't turn hostile, but it would be less helpful because you injured it. It only needs you hear you fire your weapon (even your fist), or see an enemy.
"For the world is hollow, and I have touched the sky."

User avatar
Hellsmith1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:08 am
Location: Jasper county Indiana

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#3

Post by Hellsmith1 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 12:32 am

I'm trying it out right now and the monster is not responding the hostile part he is but shooting at it or making sounds does not is not.

I remember in skulltag in cooperative mode once you spawn a friendly monster it will automatically respond or activate without shooting at it or any hostiles, but in zandronum the monster does not do none of that at all except for the hostile part.

User avatar
Empyre
Zandrone
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Garland, TX, USA

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#4

Post by Empyre » Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:04 am

It looks like you are right. A monster summoned with the friendsummon command will remain inactive until it sees an enemy or it enters its pain state.
"For the world is hollow, and I have touched the sky."

User avatar
Hellsmith1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:08 am
Location: Jasper county Indiana

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#5

Post by Hellsmith1 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:30 am

Is there a way to change it?

User avatar
Empyre
Zandrone
Posts: 1282
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Garland, TX, USA

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#6

Post by Empyre » Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:32 pm

Not that I know of. Maybe if you create a custom monster with the +FRIENDLY flag and summon that, or make a custom weapon that spawns the custom friendly monster, and then again maybe not.

If somebody else knows the answer, please join the conversation!
"For the world is hollow, and I have touched the sky."

Ænima
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 3470
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:12 pm
Location: Shpongleland

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#7

Post by Ænima » Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:47 am

spawn a friendly monster and then spawn a hostile one infront of it. iirc, friendly monsters will roam once awoken. unless i’m mistaken and they go dormant again after all visible targets are dead.

i dunno try it. otherwise you can always make some simple DECORATE replacements to create a friendly version of an existing monster that will continually roam without needing to be attacked first. I would recommend flags -STANDSTILL and +LOOKALLAROUND.
Image ­ ­
­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­
Doom64: Unabsolved: Doom64 and Diablo2 had a baby


ZandroSkins
: a pack made by our community
Squad Radio: a WASD-powered chat menu, add your own sounds
AeniPuffs: neat blood and puff effects

User avatar
Hellsmith1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:08 am
Location: Jasper county Indiana

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#8

Post by Hellsmith1 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:01 am

@Aenima I'm testing the -standstill and +lookallaround right now and no luck at all its not responding and I also try the flags separately but nothing happened.

You know I'm just curious about something does anybody else have this same problem like me?

Ænima
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 3470
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:12 pm
Location: Shpongleland

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#9

Post by Ænima » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:58 pm

You could also try making the Spawn state jump right to the See state instead of looping, eliminating the need for A_Look completely.
Image ­ ­
­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­
Doom64: Unabsolved: Doom64 and Diablo2 had a baby


ZandroSkins
: a pack made by our community
Squad Radio: a WASD-powered chat menu, add your own sounds
AeniPuffs: neat blood and puff effects

User avatar
Hellsmith1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:08 am
Location: Jasper county Indiana

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#10

Post by Hellsmith1 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:35 am

@AEnima the spawn state jump to the see state actually worked the monster is responding like it should so I don't know how to give high fives in a text form but it works and I thank you and @Empyre for helping me figuring this out. 👊

Ænima
Addicted to Zandronum
Posts: 3470
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:12 pm
Location: Shpongleland

Re: How can I activate monsters in cooperative.

#11

Post by Ænima » Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:59 pm

You’re welcome!
Image ­ ­
­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­ ­
Doom64: Unabsolved: Doom64 and Diablo2 had a baby


ZandroSkins
: a pack made by our community
Squad Radio: a WASD-powered chat menu, add your own sounds
AeniPuffs: neat blood and puff effects

Post Reply