The FCC has gutted Net Neutrality

Off-topic chat. Real talk.
Fabysk
Forum Regular

The FCC has gutted Net Neutrality

Post by Fabysk » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:09 am

I'm certain everyone on here is aware of FCC's plan to kill net neutrality. Earlier today, the vote has passed. While the effects in which will be placed are not going to happen yet, it will slowly grow overtime.

There are many sources you can look into to read more about it. I have provided one.

What are your thoughts about this move the FCC committed? Keep it civil here.

Here are my thoughts:
It's not even the slightest of bright ideas to make the Internet a form of business for ISP's. Yes it is provided to use by our ISP's, but allowing them to control how fast, slow, what we can or can not look up, prices, etc.. is not right. It's pretty much paying for something you've already paid for. Imagine EA as your ISP. It's a nightmare.
I'm a college student taking online courses. Not entirely sure how this "plan" will work, but if paying extra just to access the sites I need to do work is needed is something I do not support.
The fast and slow lane part is already bad as it sounds. Most people will be on the slow lane and there's already heavy amounts of website traffic that the slow lane will be congested and harder to reach the websites we want to access.

Lollipop
Zandrone

Re: The FCC has gutted Net Neutrality

Post by Lollipop » Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:27 pm

Net neutrality doesn't just implode after this you know, it just reverts back to the state of regulation it was at until 2015, which as far as I know did its job. Quite a few of the incidents of net neutrality problems that have been highlighted have been within the timeframe where the previous legislation was in effect.
Furthermore, this also puts the FTC back into monitoring the state of affairs again, which means that there are two agencies keeping an eye out for misbehavior.