[ACS] Camera TID? and waiting until player presses use

Discuss all aspects related to modding Zandronum here.
Empyre
Zandrone

[ACS] Camera TID? and waiting until player presses use

Post by Empyre » Mon May 22, 2017 1:29 am

I want to use ACS to change a player's view to a camera, but the Wiki says that ChangeCamera needs the TID of the camera. I don't know how to find out or set a camera's TID. I have been trying to find the answer in the Wiki, but it appears that it assumes the the reader already knows something as basic as that, so it doesn't tell. This is my first time using UDMF and nearly my first time using ACS.

This might seem like a stupid question, but is the TID the same thing as the Tag I gave the camera in Doom Builder 2?

I am tempted to just stick with linedef action 237: Camera Change, but it confuses some players, who just stand there pressing use and firing their weapon trying to get back to their own camera, when all they need to do is move, and a second problem is some players never stop moving when using the switch, so they never see the camera at all.

Once the TID thing is worked out, I need to figure out how to get the script to wait until the player presses use before switching back to the players own camera. I plan to have the script change to the camera, stop the player's movement (Thing_Stop), make the player totally frozen (PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN), and give the player invulnerability (APROP_Invulnerable), and print a message telling the player to press use, then wait until the player presses use, and then reverse everything, with a three-second delay (105 tics) before reversing the invulnerability, in case the player is in the middle of being attacked.
"For the world is hollow, and I have touched the sky."

jdagenet
Forum Regular
Clan: Cube
Clan Tag: A3

[ACS] Re: Camera TID? and waiting until player presses use

Post by jdagenet » Mon May 22, 2017 8:15 am

Empyre wrote:I don't know how to find out or set a camera's TID.