Do you want to learn some modding; Need a Tutor?

Discuss all aspects related to modding Zandronum here.
madcat
Forum Regular
Clan Tag: [Sun]

Do you want to learn some modding; Need a Tutor?

Post by madcat » Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:07 pm

I would like to announce that if there is anyone who needs any kind of help with learning modding, making new maps/monsters/weapons/items, simply anything, feel free to ask me here on Zandronum forum by Private Message or on Zandronum IRC. I hang on the Zandronum IRC under the name "madcat".
I can't promise I know all the things you would like to learn but even if it is something I do not know, I can always try or redirect you to someone who might know more than me.

I can teach how to make:
Maps ( only original doom2 map format, but I know people who might help you with modern formats ).
Monsters ( my speciality, see https://zandronum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=4445 for monsters I made myself)
Weapons ( I have some good knowledge of both doomish and medieval-style weapons )
Items ( I know many things there )

I know:
DECORATE ( I consider myself expert there, sorry for the lack of modesty )
SPRITING ( I have made thousands of my own sprites, mostly by mixing already-existing sprites together )
ACS ( This is something I have very limited knowledge about. But feel free to ask me, there is always a chance that I would know the answer, plus I know people who are experienced in ACS )
Then I know some miscellanous stuff such as KEYCONF, SNDINFO, SBARINFO etc.

So if there is anyone who would like to have someone who would teach him/her how to do modding/maps/monsters, simply anything, Im offering you what I learned since I started modding in 2006.

PS: Please do not consider this thread a joke, do not consider it a place for jokes.
Last edited by madcat on Tue Mar 28, 2017 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jdagenet
Forum Regular
Clan: Cube
Clan Tag: A3

Re: Do you want to learn some modding; Need a Tutor?